Posted by: walkerswalkabout | August 16, 2013

Telling stories

We all do this. We all delight in telling stories. Why do we do this? i say we do it to enlarge our memory—our memory of the good things in our life. To share wisdom. We do it to relive our fun and wonderful and great experiences. We do it to share. We do it to see and delight in the reactions of others. We do it to relive the fun experiences. But mostly we do it to enlarge our memory of the goodness that life has been offering us.

I still remember the time that my little brother Justin told the story of his first ski trip, with the terror and thrill of his dashes down the mountain. He went through all the motions, all the facial expressions, looking back and forth at the trees and rocks rushing by, looking bug-eyed at the trees and rocks rushing straight at him, feigning falling down, struggling back up to his feet, dashing down the slope again. This was retold latish at night in the living room near the hallway of my sister Charlotte’s house in Jerome, Idaho. I see him all over again when I retell this. We all became hysterical with laughter. First Justin, then all of us.

7D pics wind rivers 2011 and other 130

PERPETUAL INVITATION

 

Take time to light a candle.

 

Real People. Real Time. Right Now. You!

 

Gee whiz! If only someone would do something about that!!

 

Here’s your chance.

The media has lately offered up a fairly steady diet of “doom news”. If we are not careful, this constant overdose of bad news can create emotional indigestion, and leave us wondering if anything is right or ever will be right with the world.

I am not saying we should stick our heads in the sand and pretend all is well. A lot of things need attention. But a balance to bad news is needed: challenges overcome, heartwarming acts of kindness, new insights, simple acts of honesty, humor, lessons learned, beauty.

So, I invite you to use the idea-starters below to share a story from your extraordinary life—simple or sublime. Go ahead, take 2 minutes and post it as a comment:

  • What made you smile today (or yesterday)?
  • What personal philosophy serves you well?
  • What activities have you enjoyed?
  • Who/what has inspired you?
  • What have you recently learned?

PERPETUAL (URGENT) INVITATION

 

You are invited.

 

To share good news from your daily life.

 

To counterbalance the negative news that is so prevalent.

 

Simply share something along these lines:

  • What made you smile today (or yesterday)?
  • What brought tears of appreciation?
  • What personal philosophy serves you well?
  • What activities have you enjoyed?
  • Who/what has inspired you?
  • What have you recently learned?
  • What advice would you pass on?

 

Note the recent examples below if you need more inspiration. Post your offering as a comment.

 

By: Austin on February 17, 2009
at 8:36 am

Mile 15.5 in Sunday’s marathon, a little boy (maybe 6 years old or so) and his dad rode up from behind me on one of those bikes towing an almost bike. The boy turns and looks behind him at the 1/2 mile string of runners he has left in the proverbial dust and offers up this gem “Dad, we must be really fast!”. If I had had the energy I would have laughed, instead i cracked a grin and gave him a thumbs up as they sped off into the distance. To a six year old life just IS.

By: Arthur on October 27, 2008
at 8:49 am

I work in the construction industry. I talk to frightened people every day who have to hear the bad news of foreclosures and decline in the residential market. Our commercial department couldn’t be busier, and despite fears that some of these projects have no tenants people remain optimistic that the seven years of famine started in 05′, and that over the next four years the slope will again rise to hide the horizon.

There are still people willing to risk resources in the face of difficult economic times to provide jobs and progress for their community.

I recently went in to my credit union and spoke to our contact there about a HELOC, and while he seemed anxious at first, began to open up about the financial markets. It wasn’t anything I didn’t already know or suspect… the good news? I pulled all my money out of Washington Mutual back in 04′ after inquiring about their lending practices. Should find out if everything went through today… I’m not worried.

Even though I’m what the industry would call an A+ borrower, it’ll still take my credit union two weeks to verify my credit, etc. There are still stable and responsible financial institutions out there.

Better news? My garage, converted into a stuffy workshop by the previous owner, has a fresh coat of paint, carpet, and a comfy 8′ couch. I started moving my stuff out to the “hideout” last night. I sat with my brother out there comfy as can be and talked about the best place to buy a mini-fridge among other thing until 2 am. Glorious!

There are still places of sanctuary and respite, even if you have to build your own. =}

 

 

It is urgent. Curse the darkness…or light a candle.

 

We are each free to choose.

 

Thanks. I have re-written the invitation. I hope you contribute. Feel free to pass the invitation along.

Regards.

LRW
PERPETUAL (URGENT) INVITATION

 

You are invited.

 

To share good news from your daily life.

 

To counterbalance the negative news that is so prevalent.

 

Simply share something along these lines:

  • What made you smile today (or yesterday)?
  • What brought tears of appreciation?
  • What personal philosophy serves you well?
  • What activities have you enjoyed?
  • Who/what has inspired you?
  • What have you recently learned?
  • What advice would you pass on?

 

Note the recent examples below if you need more inspiration. Post your offering as a comment at https://walkerswalkabout.wordpress.com

 

By: Austin on February 17, 2009
at 8:36 am

Mile 15.5 in Sunday’s marathon, a little boy (maybe 6 years old or so) and his dad rode up from behind me on one of those bikes towing an almost bike. The boy turns and looks behind him at the 1/2 mile string of runners he has left in the proverbial dust and offers up this gem “Dad, we must be really fast!”. If I had had the energy I would have laughed, instead i cracked a grin and gave him a thumbs up as they sped off into the distance. To a six year old life just IS.

By: Arthur on October 27, 2008
at 8:49 am

I work in the construction industry. I talk to frightened people every day who have to hear the bad news of foreclosures and decline in the residential market. Our commercial department couldn’t be busier, and despite fears that some of these projects have no tenants people remain optimistic that the seven years of famine started in 05′, and that over the next four years the slope will again rise to hide the horizon.

There are still people willing to risk resources in the face of difficult economic times to provide jobs and progress for their community.

I recently went in to my credit union and spoke to our contact there about a HELOC, and while he seemed anxious at first, began to open up about the financial markets. It wasn’t anything I didn’t already know or suspect… the good news? I pulled all my money out of Washington Mutual back in 04′ after inquiring about their lending practices. Should find out if everything went through today… I’m not worried.

Even though I’m what the industry would call an A+ borrower, it’ll still take my credit union two weeks to verify my credit, etc. There are still stable and responsible financial institutions out there.

Better news? My garage, converted into a stuffy workshop by the previous owner, has a fresh coat of paint, carpet, and a comfy 8′ couch. I started moving my stuff out to the “hideout” last night. I sat with my brother out there comfy as can be and talked about the best place to buy a mini-fridge among other thing until 2 am. Glorious!

There are still places of sanctuary and respite, even if you have to build your own. =}

 

 

It is urgent. Curse the darkness…or light a candle.

 

We are free to choose.

 

Responses

  1. When my niece was of the age when she still took a bottle, she would tell herself reassuring things to comfort herself and get over her fears. Once, when it was time for her nightly bottle that she needed to go to sleep, the bottle was coming a bit later than she needed. My husband was holding her while mom was getting the bottle ready. As she whimpered and sobbed, my husband was trying to reassure her by telling her that her bottle was coming. That’s what she needed to hear so she repeated after him, “bottle coming, bottle coming” as a way to help her believe that “everything is going to be okay, you will soon have what you need.”

    Currently, we find ourselves in a very trying experience; one that is very difficult for me to understand how it is all going to work out. As my husband shared some biblical experiences to help buoy my faith, I stopped sobbing and said “we’re gonna make it, we’ll be okay.” Every day is a new day that we face the same challenge and I find I have to keep telling myself, “everything is going to be okay” even though it doesn’t really seem like it from the outside looking in. I smiled as I realized I need my bottle too. Just like a little child who needs their parents to bring them comfort and safety, we, as children of a Heavenly Father who loves us, rely on Him for our comfort and safety as well.

    • when i see you next remind me to tell you what happened a little while ago in the temple………..

  2. I enjoyed a story from a Flight Attendant neighbor who just turned 50 but looks and acts much younger.

    “Anyone that knows me knows that I have all these stories about crazy things people say to me, “horse teeth, fat on my hip, weathered”….etc. On the employee bus last night, standing room only and I am standing, a young guy asks me if I wanted his seat. I thanked him and said, “No but thank you. Save it for a senior citizen.” He looked around evaluating the other standing passengers and said, “You’re it!” Everyone started laughing (including me). I sat down and let it be known that I did get my AARP invitation recently.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

